Company
Strongrate Fiberglass Grating Certifications and Test Reports
Updated
Strongrate holds DNV Type Approval Certificate TAF0000191 Rev. 1, a fire-technical approval of six fiberglass grating models, four molded and two pultruded, valid until Feb 10, 2027. The certificate lists ASTM E84-19a flame spread indexes of 5 to 20 for the six models, all within the Class 1 limit of 25.
What does DNV Type Approval TAF0000191 Rev. 1 cover?
DNV issued the certificate to NANTONG STRONGRATE CO.,LTD on Feb 11, 2022. It covers the fire properties of six listed models. It does not approve structural strength and excludes hydrocarbon and jet fires, so use the load tables, not the certificate, for load capacity. Acceptance for a given location is case by case.
DNV Type Approval TAF0000191 Rev. 1 at a glance
- Certificate
- TAF0000191 Rev. 1 (form TA 251)The approval covers fire-technical properties of the six listed models only, not structural strength, and acceptance is case by case.
- Holder
- NANTONG STRONGRATE CO.,LTD, Nantong, China
- Issued
- Feb 11, 2022
- Issued at
- DNV, Hamburg, Germany
- DNV local station
- Nantong
- Valid until
- Feb 10, 2027
- Models covered
- 6 (4 molded, 2 pultruded)Fire data on the certificate applies to these six models only.
- Resins of the listed models
- Isophthalic polyester, vinyl ester, fire-retardant orthophthalic polyester
- Structural fire integrity
- L0 per ASTM F3059-15As stated on the certificate; acceptance for a given location is case by case.
- Scope
- Fire-technical evaluation only; not structural strengthHydrocarbon and jet fires are excluded.
- Standards cited
- DNV-SI-0364, DNV-CP-0338, DNV-CP-0070, ASTM F3059-15, ASTM E84-19a, ASTM E119, ASTM D257-91, IMO 2010 FTP Code Parts 2 and 5, MSC.1/Circ.1504, MSC.1/Circ.1369A standard listed on the certificate does not mean a separate test report for it is on file.
- Conditions
- Each grating marked with the brand and its fire rating; the manual supplied with the product
- Periodic assessment
- At least every second year
Which six models are on the certificate, and what are their ASTM E84 results?
| DNV designation | Type | Mesh, in (mm) | Depth, in (mm) | Resin | Flame spread index (FSI) | Smoke-developed index (SDI) | Product page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 38×38×25 mm1 | Molded | 1-1/2" × 1-1/2" (38 × 38 mm), square1 | 1" (25 mm)1 | Isophthalic polyester1 | 102 | 552 | 1" molded grating |
| 38×38×32 mm1 | Molded | 1-1/2" × 1-1/2" (38 × 38 mm), square1 | 1-1/4" (32 mm)1 | Fire-retardant orthophthalic polyester1 | 52 | 2502 | Molded grating family |
| 38×38×38 mm1 | Molded | 1-1/2" × 1-1/2" (38 × 38 mm), square1 | 1-1/2" (38 mm)1 | Isophthalic polyester1 | 152 | 302 | 1-1/2" molded grating |
| 25.4×152.4×38 mm1 | Molded | 1" × 6" (25 × 152 mm), rectangular1 | 1-1/2" (38 mm)1 | Vinyl ester1 | 103 | 153 | Rectangular mesh grating |
| I 60154 | Pultruded I-bar | Not stated on the certificate | Not stated on the certificate | Isophthalic polyester4 | 202 | 4002 | 1-1/2" I-bar grating |
| T50204 | Pultruded T-bar | Not stated on the certificate | Not stated on the certificate | Vinyl ester4 | 202 | 3002 | 2" T-bar grating |
Notes
- 1Inch sizes are North American nominals of the metric certificate designation.
- 2Result as listed on DNV certificate TAF0000191 Rev. 1 (ASTM E84-19a); applies to this model only.
- 3Result as listed on DNV certificate TAF0000191 Rev. 1 (ASTM E84-19a); applies to the 1" × 6" model only, not to a 1" × 4" product.
- 4Bar depth and open area are not stated on the certificate.
All six flame spread indexes are at or below 25, the limit US guide specifications set for the rating the industry calls Class 1 or Class A. Smoke-developed indexes range from 15 to 400. In the building-code interior-finish classification, Class A pairs FSI 25 or less with SDI 450 or less, so check the code edition your jurisdiction has adopted. More on ASTM E84 Class 1 fire rating for FRP grating.
How do I get the certificate for a submittal?
Ask in your quote request, naming the model, resin and specification section. The certificate PDF is linked under Sources. Check your project specification for any other documents it requires, as described in fiberglass grating specifications. For grating on a vessel or offshore unit, each grating must be marked with the brand and its fire rating, and the manual must be supplied with the product. To check surface and color, order a sample.
Frequently asked questions
Do the DNV fire results apply to every Strongrate grating?
No. They apply only to the six listed models in the resins named on the certificate: the 1", 1-1/4" and 1-1/2" (25, 32 and 38 mm) deep square-mesh and 1" × 6" (25 × 152 mm) rectangular-mesh molded models, and the I 6015 and T5020 pultruded models. Other sizes and resins are not covered by the certificate.
Does a standard named on the DNV certificate mean there is a separate test report for it?
No. The certificate cites standards such as ASTM E119 and the IMO FTP Code, but a standard listed on it is not a separate test report. The results the certificate records are the ASTM E84-19a indexes per model and the ASTM F3059-15 fire integrity rating.
Request a quote
Need the certificate for a submittal? Name the model, resin and specification section in your quote request. Quotes within 1 business day (US Central time); the reply confirms routing and next steps.